To Err is All Too Human




Well, after my recent quasi-apology to the Superintendent of Public Instruction for Fairfax County, I thought I should get this one off my chest as well.

Seems I had RG3 and Coach Gruden all wrong. I had thought – silly me – that RG wanted to play the game like he did in the first year when he was dynamite, explosive, tantalizing. I thought he was being saddled with this idea of being a pocket passer and I thought ill of Coach Gruden for forcing the issue.

Then came an interview with Mike Shanahan, the former coach of the Redskins. He was talking about the falling out he had with RG3 and the reason was… are you ready for this?… being a pocket passer.

Yes, RG3 saw how Shanahan had changed up the play calling when his backup played and RG said he wanted those plays as well but when he returned to the lineup, it was with the earlier playbook he had used previously. Yes, he wanted to be a pocket passer and Shanahan wouldn’t let him.

So it looks like I was wrong.

Sometimes it seems like you know what you know but it’s not what you know, you know?

And I’m glad we’ve cleared up that little bit.

Now that he wants to be a pocket-passer and Gruden wants a pocket-passer, it makes it easy to see why they’ve picked up the option on his contract.

* * *

But, for some reason… call me crazy here, but I think there is still something we are missing from the equation. Why is Gruden calling in so many backup QBs?

I guess we’ll just have to wait for the season to see where this is all going to go… or going to go wrong, again, as usual.

That’s me, always the optimist.





Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

