Another Season in the Can

Well, it’s all over but the Super Bowl and I cannot express how glad I am that this season is over!

We started out with the lousy reffing of the replacements and finally (!) Roger Goodell pressured them to sign a contract and get the regular refs back on the field. We all heaved a sigh of relief.

Unfortunately, I cannot see that the reffing got any better. All season long, every game I saw, I was wishing the replacement refs were back on the field. Even in the playoffs, it was so miserable, I was praying they would bring them back.

Why?

Simple. With such lousy reffing – and it was as bad as when I played on my junior high team (and that was fifty years ago) – if we only had the replacements still on the field I would understand why it was so piss poor.

With the “professional” refs present, you would expect at least a semi-professionally reffed game. But no such luck.

Missed calls, erroneous calls, too damned many ref huddles where they try to figure out what the heck game they are reffing, or what day of the week it is, or what movies are showing on the local theaters, or something!

So, we can now – or at least after just one more game – put this madness behind us and hope next season will see the return of the true professional refs.

Maybe it’s just that they did not have time at the start of the season to “find their groove”. Maybe those first weeks of preseason would have been enough to help these poor guys get into the swing of it.

And, as it turned out, they missed that vital breaking-in period and seemed a little off-kilter, a little out of touch, slightly unbalanced all season long.

I just hope with the off-season that they can regroup and give us a much better season that the one they just finished.


Yeah, I know, you’re not supposed to complain about the reffing… if you’re an NFL coach, that is, and I am not one of those.

My old high school coach said “the refs can’t beat you”… but I don’t think he saw anything as lousy as this year’s reffing.

Start to finish, it was one for the record books.

And like the fans of all the losing teams say: “Hey, there’s always next year.”

Even for the refs.


Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

