Opinions and Brains

Opinions are like brains: everybody has one.

And blogs are for the expression of opinions, whether one wishes to use brains or not. (Many may think mine are insane, useless, or worse, but I would direct them to the first statement above. Everyone’s entitled to have their own and I welcome challenges to my opinions – elsewise one can never grow or learn. ‘Nuff said on that.)

I have seen a lot of message boards on other news and blog sites where people freely express their opinions, right or wrong (and who’s to decide, huh?), good, bad, or indifferent. Some are so caught up in the emotions of the expression that their spelling slips and the message becomes a little garbled, but there’s nothing wrong with being impassioned about something… so many people are not.

I have seen more and more of the opinions expressed recently as a way for people to vent their hatreds (and bigotry), but there is nothing wrong with that either, unless you live in a country where such rights are prohibited. In America, as much as people may complain about its faults, we still have the right to vent and express our opinions, however correct or incorrect, intelligent or nonsensical, others may think them to be.

One caught my attention recently. One comment to a news story about the Israeli bombings in Lebanon stated that before the Israelis came to create their nation, the land was actually empty, unpopulated, as proven by the British census records for the area.

I found the comment to be rather humorous even though obviously incorrect. I do not have the link to the British census records, but a report by Ralph Bunche, the US envoy in the Middle East shows that statement to be an error: there were a LOT of people there before the Israelis moved in (see the article at http://www.doublestandards.org/unbunche.html).

And that got me to thinking: how did this person develop such an erroneous opinion (at least, IMO)? And I recalled books or articles I had read in the past, usually of an inflammatory nature, spouting off the author’s opinions without any reference. A person reading such an article could come away from it with the conviction of the author’s veracity and absorb the data into his mental main frame and help to formulate his opinion.

I am not certain of this conjecture, but it seems a rational sequence (if such be needed).

When I read articles, I tend to read the subject from several various viewpoints and several differing opinions, in order to better form a more complete picture from which to derive my opinion. But that’s just me, and not everyone loves to read as much as I on as many subjects.

It should cause others to think before spouting opinions, but I doubt if any take heed. Others of us can still learn something even from this sort of thing.

Spout on!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

